Connect with us

Okigwe Zone And APC Ticket in


Okigwe Zone And APC Ticket in

Written by Chidiebube Okeoma

As political parties prepare for their primary elections later this month, three persons have so far purchased the nomination and expression of interest forms of the All Progressives Congress for the Imo North( Okigwe zone) senatorial district election.

They are :

Frank Ibezim: Frank Ibezim is the current senator representing the zone at the red chamber of the national Assembly. He was elected at the December 5, 2020, bye- election and was sworn- in four months after on April 27, 2021. This is after the apex court delivered a verdict on the allegation that he possessed fake/ forged certificates/ documents.

He was also the Commissioner for Agriculture when Rochas Okorocha, was the governor of Imo state.

He hails from Ehime Mbano LGA in the Okigwe South Federal Constituency that has been producing senators of the zone since 2007.

Ikedi Ohakim: Ikedi Ohakim is a former governor of Imo state. He was the governor of the state between 2007 and 2011. Before he served as a governor, he had served the state as the commissioner for Commerce and Industry when late Evan Enwerem was the governor of the state.

He was the president general of Okohia Town Union for about ten years. This Chief Executive Officer of Mekahog Group was a boy soldier during the civil war and had moulded destinies as a school teacher and as a labour leader.

Ohakim was the chairman of National Economic Council that drafted the Nigerian Gas Master Plan. He hails from the Isiala Mbano Local Government Area in Okigwe North Federal Constituency that has not produced a senator for the zone since 2007.

Patrick Ndubueze : An engineer by profession, Patrick Ndubueze is a former member of the house of representatives and was one of the Peoples Democratic Party aspirants for the 2015 senatorial election in Imo North which he lost to Athan Achonu who went on to win the general election before an appeal court judgement in Owerri removed him after six months he was inaugurated as a senator.

Ndubueze, went on to win the PDP senatorial ticket in 2019 but lost the main election to the then incumbent senator for the zone, late Benjamin Uwajumogu. Ndubueze dumped PDP in 2020, after accusing the party of compromising the processes that led to Emmanuel Okewulonu emerging the candidate of the main opposition party for the senatorial bye-election after the death of Uwajumogu. He contested the bye- election on the platform of Action Alliance and lost to Frank Ibezim.

He hails from Okigwe Local Government Area of Okigwe North Federal Constituency that has not produced a senator for the zone since 2007.

Who among them do you think is the best to emerge the candidate of the party later this month?.

Let’s get your feedback

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in News

To Top